Post-Splashdown News Update on NASA's SpaceX Crew-1 Mission

Crew-1 is home! Four astronauts are back on Earth after SpaceX’s Crew Dragon Resilience splashed down safely in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of Florida Sun., May 2 at 2:56 a.m. EDT (6:56 UTC). This was the first night splashdown of a U.S. crewed spacecraft since Apollo 8’s predawn return in the Pacific Ocean on Dec. 27, 1968. Tune in at 5 a.m. EDT (9:00 UTC) for a return to Earth news update with experts from NASA, SpaceX, and the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) from our Johnson Space Center in Houston. Participants are: Kathy Lueders, associate administrator, Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters Steve Stich, manager, Commercial Crew Program, Kennedy Space Center Joel Montalbano, manager, International Space Station, Johnson Holly Ridings, chief flight director, Johnson Hans Koenigsmann, senior advisor, Flight Reliability, SpaceX Hiroshi Sasaki, vice president and director general, JAXA’s Human Spaceflight Technology Directorate

Read More…
Post-Splashdown News Update on NASA’s SpaceX Crew-1 Mission

Updated: May 2, 2021 — 10:27 am