SpaceX Prepares to Launch Starlink v1.0 L20 Mission

As SpaceX continues its push towards a new record number of launches in a single year, the company is preparing to launch the Starlink v1.0 L20 mission — the 20th launch of operational Starlink satellites and the 21st Starlink launch overall. Liftoff is currently scheduled for March 9th at 9:58 PM EST (02:58 UTC on March 10th) from SLC-40 at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station. This comes after the vehicle successfully completed a static fire test on March 8th at 6 PM EST (23:00 UTC). If the launch does not occur on March 9th, two backup opportunities are available on March 10th EST. The L20 mission will be the fifth Starlink mission of 2021, but the sixth batch of Starlink satellites launched this year. SpaceX launched 10 satellites into a polar orbit on the Transporter-1 mission at the end of January. This launch also comes after the long delayed Starlink v1.0 L17 mission was successfully launched from Launch Complex 39A at Kennedy Space Center on March 4th.  In total, the L20 mission will bring the number of operational v1.0 Starlink satellites launched to 1,203. The booster assigned to this mission is B1058-6, the same booster that launched Bob Behnken and…

Read More…
SpaceX Prepares to Launch Starlink v1.0 L20 Mission

Updated: March 9, 2021 — 1:14 pm