SpaceX preparing to launch Inspiration4, first all-private orbital mission

SpaceX is preparing for the launch of the first-ever all-private orbital mission, Inspiration4. The first-of-its-kind flight will see four private astronauts take flight on a Falcon 9 and Crew Dragon for a three-day stay in Low Earth Orbit. The flight is part of a large fundraiser for St. Jude’s Children Research Hospital, a pediatric cancer hospital. Liftoff, from historic pad LC-39A at Kennedy Space Center, is scheduled for a launch window opening at 8:02 PM EDT on September 15 (00:02 UTC September 16). The window closes at 1:13 AM EDT (05:13 UTC). Inspiration4 was started and entirely funded by Jared Isaacman, CEO of the online payment company Shift4 Payments. Isaacman earned a bachelor’s degree from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and is a pilot in his free time. He created the mission to raise awareness and funds for St. Jude’s, a no-cost hospital to treat and research pediatric diseases, mainly cancer. Isaacman himself donated $100 million to the hospital apart from the fundraiser. He will serve as mission commander. Each of the four seats on the mission will represent a virtue. Isaacman’s will be “Leadership.” The three other seats on Dragon were bookmarked for a St. Jude’s healthcare worker, a donor to…

Read More…
SpaceX preparing to launch Inspiration4, first all-private orbital mission

Updated: September 15, 2021 — 10:27 am