Turksat-5B rides second of three Falcon 9 launches in three days

Following a successful Starlink mission from Vandenberg, California, SpaceX has launched a second Falcon 9 mission Saturday, this time from Cape Canaveral, Florida. The second of three missions planned for just three days will carry the Turksat-5B communications satellite to GTO (geostationary transfer orbit). The launch occurred Saturday evening on December 18 at the opening of a launch window from 10:58 PM to 12:28 AM EST (03:58 to 05:28 UTC). Falcon 9 lifted off from SLC-40 (Space Launch Complex 40) at the Cape Canaveral Space Force Station. The 45th Weather Squadron of Space Launch Delta 45 at Patrick Space Force Base predicted an 80% chance of acceptable weather for launch. Should weather, technical issues, or anything else have required that the launch be delayed from Saturday evening’s window, a backup opportunity existed 24 hours later with a forecasted 60% chance of favorable weather. The Turksat-5B mission was the second Falcon 9 launch of the day. The first launched from SLC-4E (Space Launch Complex 4 East) at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California at 4:41 AM PST (12:41 UTC) carrying 52 of the company’s Starlink internet satellites to orbit, designated the Group 4-4 mission. See AlsoTurksat-5B UpdatesSpaceX Missions SectionL2…

Read More…
Turksat-5B rides second of three Falcon 9 launches in three days

Updated: December 18, 2021 — 9:26 pm